Sorry I have been MIA, seems to be a reoccurring thing with me, but thank you for everyone that has been patient with me.  The first “Something Cool”  entry was a childhood favorite, but this second one falls right into that category.  Welcome to Assassin’s FIST!  The background story of Ken and Ryu.  I even have the while series here for you from YouTube as a treat.  Be warned it is like 2 hours long in total, but enjoy.

 

If you don’t want to watch it on my site here is the link too.

Street Fighter: Assassin’s Fist

 

Ok is 2 hours up?  What did you think?  I personally loved it, now I’m a fan of webepisodes, and fan films and etc.  Ryu is always my all-time favorite fighting game character.  I even used to be damn good at the games, especially Marvel vs Capcom.  Now I was already familiar with the story from the cartoon version of it, it was just great to see it come to life live action style.  Some of the best parts were the signature call back moves and moments, and EVIL RYU!

I get a few Metsu Hadoken’s, a fire fueled Shoryuken, or the ever confusing computer glitch turned real move Shakunetsu Hadoken (I did look up the real name rather than call it the super hadoken ← ↓→ +⊗ still remember how to do it on the controller).  Oh yea this web series gave us the most awesome thing ever,  Akuma’s “LIGHTS OUT MOVE“!  or that’s what we used to call it in my friend group.  When you pulled it off Akuma would glide at least 1/2 or 1/3 of the screen and grab the opponent and the lights would go out and you would hear some smack down being laid and when the lights returned Akuma is standing over a battered corpse ( looking it up now and it is officially called Wrath of the Raging Demon).  It was just so much to love, from Player’s theme music playing, and even the mention of Dan (for some reason this character is totally forgotten about, no one remembers the ultimate insult of a player beating you with Dan?  Autograph signing?  Mini, extermely mini Hadoken?  Nothing?  Ok then nevermind.)  Just pure fun watching this.

Now I admit I’m not a harsh critic when it comes to these type of things.  So the only issues I had was I wanted more Akuma or rather the Akuma/Goken showdown.  Also I wanted to see either a reference or a cameo of a certain tall, Muay Thai god, with an eye patch, and scar free.

This is definitely a great addition to the “Something Cool” archives!

Written By:

Jason "Big J" Allen  @UnsportsmenBigJ

Jason “Big J” Allen
@UnsportsmenBigJ

Follow Me @UnSportsmenBigJ

