Seems like when you make a horror movie and I can’t say the name, know what the name means (Insidious), or just seems odd, it equals Good Freaking Horror Movie.

Now I walked into this movie with very little knowledge of it.  The trailer felt very Ring ish to me (I did enjoy the first Ring and Ringu) so I was expected more of the same.  What I got was a very rooted Psychological thriller mixed in with a ghost story, and a tension building good time.  I’m not hailing this as an all-time great, but it is refreshing and fun.

The story does a great job of zipping from past to present, and in doing so you as a viewer start to question what is present and what was the past.  The movie plays with the idea of viewing the same event differently through two perspectives, and how the cloud of time can effect memory of events.  The movie goes a long way in setting you up to the point where you are questioning what is real and fake.  I will note that there is a lot of child acting in this movie and that usually downgrades everything for me but the performances here are stellar (Annalise Basso and Garrett Ryan), you can sense the fear and dread in these young actors.  While I’m on acting; Karen Gillan is amazing in this, I know her more from Dr. Who, but this kind of performance can be the beginning of a star studded career similar to Jennifer Lawrence (I know Winter Bone was awesome but even Lawrence did the terrible “House at the End of the Street”).  Gillan really shows off this one.  Gillan helps keep you invested in this sister and brother team.  Now again I was expecting nothing so my surprise does elevate this movie in my eyes.  Female Starbuck (Katee Sackhoff) is also good, you can really feel how the mirror starts to slowly destroy her whole life until WHAM everything crumbles.

It was very little that I didn’t like.  Some things were the pacing, now I love a slow burn as much as the next, but sometimes I felt it dragged an inch.  There were not a lot of jump scares, which usually I’m against but here a few more would have helped keep the tension building.  Now like all horror movies there are moments that make you go “Why didn’t they just do…”  I usually suspend that comment for the sake of the film, but there was a moment in the movie where the main character did something smart and it didn’t work, but she never tried it again.  Basically they get help from a neighbor, but it failed, and they never thought to try again.  You know get help from a teacher, or other neighbors?  Show someone your mother.  I feel like that was the writers way of saying “Hey look these kids aren’t dumb, see they tried and it failed…  now back to your hell house”.

Lastly, I really enjoyed this film, and I implore everyone to go out and see it.  I am tired of good horror (Cabin in the Woods) getting no press (Drag Me To Hell), sales (The Descent), and making Hollywood go back to old reliable (remakes, reboots, sequels, and pure garbage).  I mean how many more Saw, Paranormal Activity, and now Insidious can we keep getting?  Oculus is like going on a blind date and all your friends tell you she has a nice personality, so your expecting average to dog, and you end up with Karen Gillan.  Good Fucking Deal!  I Pay For It So You Don’t Have To, but Pay for this so Hollywood doesn’t have to shove the garbage down our viewing throats.

Written By:

Jason "Big J" Allen  @UnsportsmenBigJ

Jason “Big J” Allen
@UnsportsmenBigJ

If you want to know what I think about the world of Quantum Physics and how I maintain such a healthy lifestyle don’t follow me, but if you just enjoy Man/Geek stuff follow me @UnSportsMenBigJ

