Marvel takes another crack at the Animated portion of their franchise as well as continuing the Anime style in this uneven Black Widow and Punisher.

The trailer gives you the style this is in, it is in the same wheelhouse as the X-Men (pretty good), Iron Man (really good), Blade (decent), and Wolverine (gawd awful) anime series.  This pits S.H.I.E.L.D. in cooperation with The Punisher.  I have always had a strange relationship with/about the Punisher.  I feel like he is a broke, gun toting, more insane version of Batman (yes Batman is insane, HE DRESSES UP AS A BAT!!!  That’s called crazy, or that superpowered villains are afraid of the human on the Justice League, that is because you can’t beat crazy), in the Punisher’s world rarely is prison the answer for your crimes and I love that about him, but I also hate that Frank Castle is so tough to work with, just realizing that teamwork makes the Dream work would benefit Castle in his vendetta.  Hell even single focused Cable teamed up with unstable Deadpool to accomplish goals.  With all that being said I enjoy the Punisher’s ability to tangle with the more powerful enemies (or sometimes heroes) in the Marvel Universe and hold his own.

On the screen Frank Castle has seen little success, from Ivan Drago, Thomas Jane, and Ray Stevenson playing him (I actually liked the Ray Stevenson Punisher movie), animation seems to be the perfect format to really understand and get what the Punisher is all about.  Here he can be as bloody and brutal as he wants to be and I loved every moment of it.  The interaction between Fury and Castle is classic, its like two juggernauts not backing down from each other, Fury knowing he has the while might of S.H.I.E.L.D. at his will, and Castle knowing that he has…  CRAZY, the unstoppable force.  In all seriousness the movie hints at some past issues that Castle and Fury have yet to resolve.  The Black Widow is the Black Widow, they tie in a love interest to the plot of the movie to make her more interesting.  The only real interesting thing about this whole movie are the fights.  You see the acrobatic deadly spy/assassin fighting style of widow teamed with the brute aggressive style of Punisher and the contrast makes for some entertaining fights and team ups.

Now don’t get me wrong I enjoyed this movie, but it had a lot of bad about it that I ignored in favor of just pure entertainment.  Like the whole plot is just stupid.  The dialogue is awful, and the attempt to make the characters relate able is terrible and not necessary.  To boot they just throw in the Avengers at the end just because it is convenient.  Like literally out of nowhere the team shows up to fight the big battle at the end.  I would have preferred they kept the adventure small time ala the S.H.I.E.L.D. show so it solely focused on Widow and Punisher, but I guess you have to sell the movie somehow right?

This is a fun movie that is short and sweet too, so enjoy it and don’t take it to seriously.  I don’t know how much of the flaws can be chalked up to the attempt of an Asian market crossover or just lazy scripting.  Regardless if your a fan of either Widow (and what man isn’t) or Castle you will get your fun with them.  This movie is like having a friend that you like to hang out with but they always have to bring their annoying little brother.  Basically you have to take the good with the bad and the good barely out weighs the bad.  I Pay For It So You Don’t Have To (this movie is on YouTube so you really don’t have to pay).

Written By:

Jason "Big J" Allen  @UnsportsmenBigJ

Jason “Big J” Allen
@UnsportsmenBigJ

I don’t know Karate but I know Krazy! @UnsportsmenBigJ

