“A NFL team without a good quarterback is like a stripper without a good body”- Colin Cowherd.  This book is the living journal or testimony of the alter of Cowherd.  This book left me very undecided and I don’t know whether to praise it or donate it to my local Library.  Ok I will probably do both!

colin

You can get this book or take a glimpse of it here

Now that might seem like an insult, but when I say praise or local Library it.  I mean that in the most sincere way.  This book could do some good in the local library in educating the masses on how to think outside the box while living inside the box.  Cowherd is probably one if not the best storytellers in the radio sports arena.  Which is just a pure delight in this book, I loved his story in the intro about the “Harlem Globetrotters” and how that incident shaped his whole view of the sports world.  What makes Colin Cowherd great and in turns makes this book so fun to read is that Colin attacks sports in a relate this to that to make sense of his point.  For example “Hating an athlete for being arrogant is like hating a bat for being nocturnal.”  “Holding a grudge is the equivalent of chain-smoking hate”.  This book is chalked full of similar words/sayings.  Each chapter tackles a new subject and lets Colin either tell a story to get to his point or he proceeds to breakdown either the proper or irrational way the public views a subject matter.  So you really don’t have to read this book in order, you can pick chapters that intrigue you more than others.  I typically agree with a lot of Colin’s views and the views I don’t agree with he makes me say “Hmmm!”.  This book is a sports world eye opener if you have never Herd “The Herd”.  But if you listen to the show on a regular basis then most of what Colin has written you have Herd on “The Herd” and there lies the only issue.

For every witty and new discovery in the book, there was probably 4 others I had already heard on his show.  There is barely any new territory covered in this book.  And it’s only a draw back in comparison to Mike Greenberg’s books from “Mike & Mike” fame.  Greenie in his books seems to put fresh narratives on conversations or hot topics that he never gets to fully expand on during his show.  Now that could be a product of Greenie being a two man show and Colin Cowherd is solo so his “everything” is on stage 5 days out of a week.  Now in no way am I saying that reading retread arguments/points kills the book, but if I had to nitpick a negative that would be it.

Colin Cowherd is the man and I would love to sit down and have a cocktail with him and hear more of his stories, only issue is that usually Colin is the one that wants to listen to others stories, so maybe I would have to bring a few baby dolls with me to open him up.  If your a sports fan this is a must read for pure enjoyment.  If your not a sports fan, but a very important person in your life is this would be a great birthday, Christmas, or Valentines Day gift.  Maybe I should just buy another copy and donate it to the library and request it be on the reading list for any athlete, journalist, and media mind/personality.  Reading this book is like being a character in “Being John Malkovich” where we get to see what “Thinking Like Colin Cowherd” is like, but somethings are just very familiar.  Remember I Pay For It So You Don’t Have To!

Written By:

Jason "Big J" Allen  @UnsportsmenBigJ

Jason “Big J” Allen
@UnsportsmenBigJ

Follow me @UnsportsmenBigJ if you want more Man Stuff awesome talk and conversation (Sports, Movies, TV, Comics, Games, and etc)

