I want to start off by saying that I am biased.  I’m a die hard 49er fan through and through, and that I dislike the Seahawks (but I admit I’m starting to like them more and more being a follower of a sport and not a fanatic).  I dislike the Seahawks only because of Pete Carroll.  I thought the way he left USC was terrible, but those are the brakes, and even now how he has changed his coaching style and influenced his players is winning me over.  With all that being said, I’m officially nervous as crap for the game.

I’m nervous, not because of the “12th Man”, not because of the way we have been dominated in Seattle, not even because of the talent Seattle has.  I’m nervous because of the 2nd Coming JIM HARBAUGH.  If you have read anything on this site you know I think Harbaugh is the second best coach in the league behind Empreror Bill Palpatine Belicheck.  So why the worry?  Well I worry because I think Harbaugh will not feature Frank Gore like he should.  He has been limiting Gore all year so he would be fresh for these games.  Harbaugh has been smart enough to know he didn’t need Gore to run 20+ times in the regular season to win.  When Gore carries the ball 20+ in a game in the last 2 years the 49ers are 12-1, when carrying under 20 times a game 15-8, including 19 carries in the Super Bowl (when everyone thought they should have ran Gore in the red zone during the final drive).  Now it’s time to unleash Gore.  Harbaugh scares me too because he has a bit of Don Shula in him, where he has fallen in love with his star QB ala Shula and Marino.  Harbaugh might try to feature Kaepernick to show the world and doubters (Joe Montana) that Kaepernick can make plays totally from the pocket with precision and accuracy, just like last year in the Falcons game.  That is not how you beat the Seahawks.

If your Seattle you should feel confident that you are playing at home with a team you have dominated at home.  Even with the subpar play of Russell Wilson (and everyone back off the man, he has no WRs, Kaepernick with no Crabtree subpar, Luck without Wayne subpar.  Young QBs need a go-to-guy in the line up to make them comfortable and better) you have to feel great that you know your guy can win the game down the stretch with either his legs and arm.  The key for Seattle will have to be one of the WRs/TEs stepping up and making plays.  What no Beast Mode?  You will need that too, but Lynch gets his yards vs the 49ers when they only have 6 in the box.  If a WR can become a threat to keep the safeties and outside linebackers honest Lynch will have lanes and then the Seahawks are tough to beat.  Also Carroll doesn’t have to out coach Harbaugh to win (where Harbaugh has to out coach Carroll to win), but Carroll has to make sure he doesn’t make a coaching mistake (look at last years Divisional Playoff game vs the Falcons.  Carroll made a few questionable coaching decisions, Hell “Big Play Ray” wrote an article about it “Pete Carroll Is Who We Though He Is”) that will cost them a game.

I know this will be a beat’em up game.  This plays in both teams hands, the question is who will make THE PLAY!  My homer attitude is going 49ers all the way, but the follower in me has to be honest and pick the…  THE 49ers to win it.  I feel like it is our time and not only that, I think the refs will call more Pass Interference or Holding calls than usual against the grab happy Seahawks ( I though the league got rid of the Belicheck way, of holding secondary, to favor Manning’s Colts?).  I know I know, but this begins a Dynasty like no other #QuestforSix!!!

Written by:

Jason "Big J" Allen  @UnsportsmenBigJ

Jason “Big J” Allen
@UnsportsmenBigJ

Follow me @UnSportMenBigJ

 

