The NHL’s version of the Central Division is going through some changes, thanks to realignment. Goodbye, Detroit Red Wings and Columbus Blue Jackets. Hello Winnipeg Jets and Colorado Avalanche. Sure it takes away a great Original Six rivalry between the Red Wings and the Chicago Blackhawks, but from a geographical standpoint, it makes sense. (I mean Winnipeg in the Southeast makes as much sense as the University of North Dakota joining the SEC.)

With realignment also comes a new playoff format in which divisional play is a much bigger factor now, than under the old format where conference play was key. So with that in mind, here’s a look at the NHL’s Central Division.

1. Chicago Blackhawks:

Jonathan Toews

Additions: Nikolai Khabibulin (FA, Edmonton)
Subtractions: Michael Frolik (Trade, Winnipeg) Ray Emery (FA, Philadelphia) Dave Bolland (Trade, Toronto) Viktor Stalberg (FA, Nashville)

There is a saying made famous by 17 time world heavyweight…

View original post 1,096 more words