By:  Jason “Big J” Allen

Follow me @UnsportsmenBigJ

Follow the crew @bprunsportsmenm (Jets fan so give him an hard time)

@CR_unsportsmen (Eagles fan so tell him that Chip Kelly as a person is a gimmick)

I remember as a kid a great man once told me (at least in my mind) that you have to make the Money first, then when you get the Money, you get the Power, then when you get the Power, you get the Woman.  That man was none other than Tony Montana aka “Scarface”, now I agree with Tony on the first two, but then I have to take a page from “The Lox” and add Respect.  Money, Power, Respect is the key to life.  I’m not comparing Johnny Football to Scarface, or to “The Lox” but at the heart of Scarface and the song it’s about the American Dream.  So why are we hating on Johnny Manziel for living “The Dream”?

Regardless of the outcome of Saturday’s game against Alabama, Johnny Manziel will be loved or hated no matter what he does.  He is the vain of American society, he is the rich, privileged kid with family MONEY.  America wants you to be humble when you are that guy.  America wants you to point out that it’s not your money its your families money.  America wants you to be Aaron Murray.  Forget what America wants, this is Manziel.  He is Johnny “Football”!  What is he doing that will change our daily lives?  Nothing.  Yet we all have an opinion on the “spoiled brat”.  If he was a broke, coming from a family of hardships we would look at his behavior as A: over confident B: ignorant of culture because the environment he grew up in and C: Boy being a boy.  The Money of his family has given him a stature that Johnny Manziel doesn’t try to live down to and why should he?

Winning the Heisman alone gives you Power, but being the first freshman to win it puts you in a 1 and 1 group.  First one to do it and the way people are reacting to his actions he may be the last one to do it.  We look at Johnny Manziel and can’t understand why he can’t just go about his business and be a professional.  The problem is he is not a professional and we are to blame, we have given him this Power and have made him a celebrity overnight.  He used to have a normal…ish life but once he beat Alabama, then had that outstanding Bowl Game performance, and then was voted the Heisman Trophy winner, he wakes up now and EVERYBODY wants a piece of him.  For better or for worse.  How many jersey’s has NCAA/Texas A&M sold?  How many people are asking him for autographs?  How many people tweeting or reporting his day to day actions?  When you are put into this box, your power becomes fleeting and eventually annoying.  Yet and still we have to remember who gave him this POWER, and platform.  WE DID!

After the first two this is the issue most have with Manziel.  The RESPECT!  People feel like he has not given enough to deserve/receive some in return.  With all of his awards and big plays in his freshman season you would think Manziel would garner more respect outside of Defensive Coordinators and Head Coaches.  People like to point to the body language Manziel had when Kevin Sumlin was chewing him out during the Rice game.  I look at the situation as the ultimate respect, because a player of Manziel’s status could have barked back or pleaded his case, instead he kept his helmet on (which all my coaches have always told me to do when they confront me) and took his place on the bench.  What about the lack of Respect that the Rice players showed him?  Last time I checked Manziel was paving a slight path for College players to get paid, and Rice players, getting blown out by the way, had the nerve to taunt him after Manziel just scored on them?  Huh?  Makes no sense, but all we wanted to do was jump on Manziel’s lack of maturity.

No matter how you feel about Johnny “Football” Manziel, it doesn’t matter, because his family and his autographs have MONEY, his play on the field has made him a huge POWER in college football, and we have to RESPECT that he is here to stay.  Maybe he gets his first taste of humble pie against Alabama.  Maybe he wont get his slice of that humble pie until he gets destroyed in the NFL.  With all this being said lets enjoy the ride and let the young kid live.  So to steal a bit from Drake (who Manziel has quoted before) Johnny Manziel can say “I got Everything, I got Everything; I can not complain, I can not; I don’t even know how much I really made I forgot, its a lot; I came up, that’s all me; Stay true, that’s all me; No help, that’s all me”

Jason "Big J" Allen  @UnsportsmenBigJ

Jason “Big J” Allen
@UnsportsmenBigJ

