By: Jason “Big J” Allen

Follow me @UnsportsmenBigJ

“I like him, I like him too, I wish I could draft the best players in the world!”  Sorry Lil’ Wayne for butchering your song, but Fantasy Football has changed the Football fan.  Now, for better or for worse is your decision.  The new age fan has an allegiance to a team, but they are more aligned to the players they decide to draft.  Now NFL and football purist have trouble conceiving how you can root against your team or draft a player off a rival team.  Yet this is the new fan, “The Fantasy Football Loyalist”.

A perfect example of this fan is my one and only fiance Jess (What’s your Fantasy? Football Team Name), she is a huge college football fan (Go Noles!), but not so much NFL.  Hell she was dumb enough to be a Jets fan at first (Sorry Raymond “Big Play” Miller) when she chose a team, she thought Rex Ryan would be a cool coach to play under, once they got Tebow she jumped off the Jets and joined me in 49er paradise.  I tell you all this to say she had an immediate advantage in Fantasy Football over me, because she carries no “Heart picks”.  You know the pick you do with your love (for me it’s always been Frank Gore, now currently it’s Kaepernick) of players on your team.  Instead Jess picks players solely on the “Janet Jackson Rule” aka the “What have you done for me lately”, she cares less about who you play for and if you play against the 49ers.  The new fan “The Fantasy Football Loyalist”.

We are seeing more and more of these types of fans pop up and a lot of them live by the thought of “If MY team wins the Super Bowl, I feel great, but if my Fantasy Football team wins I GET PAID (or at least bragging rights in non money leagues)”.  So now you are seeing fans that have huge allegiance to players.  Not the teams.  Not the organizations.  Not the legacy of a franchise.  None of that, just the player and what he can produce, that’s where the fandom ends and “The Fantasy Football Loyalist” begins.

These type of fans bother the purist who believe in one team, one rooting interest, and one goal of Super Bowl Championships.  Some purist go as far as to say that “The Fantasy Football Loyalist” are ruining the game, but I beg to differ.  These fans are changing and uplifting the game.  These fans will watch the dreadful Jaguars when I wont because they need Cecil Shorts III to catch a touchdown.  These fans a lot of times know more about players and the league than the single minded “I only care about my team fan” (I have lived in D.C. [Pigskin fans], Pennsylvania [E-A-G-L-E-S, Steel Nation], and now outside the ATL [Dirty Birds] so I know a lot about single minded fans), and that is what grows the game.  Teams you won’t watch they will, and root for their fantasy player as loud and hard as you will for your team.  Lets be honest these type of fans are the reason for the NFL RedZone Channel.  Thank You “The Fantasy Football Loyalist”.

All my NFL purist just face the fact that “The Fantasy Football Loyalist” is here to stay.  They have made old dogs like me learn new tricks if I want to compete in the Fantasy Football landscape.  So yes “I like Him, and I like Him too”, and if Russell Wilson is on the board at a reasonable pick, I’m taking him.  When he plays the 49ers twice this year, I will hope for 300yds 3tds, but a 49er victory.  Does this make me a bad fan?  Probably so, but I have lost to my fiance in a Fantasy Football playoff round and hearing her brag is worse than any Super Bowl the 49ers could lose to the Ravens.  Damn You “The Fantasy Football Loyalist”!

Fantasy Furnace for real Fantasy Football advice.  I lost to my Fiance so you know I need help @fantasyfurnace

Jason "Big J" Allen  @UnsportsmenBigJ

Jason “Big J” Allen
@UnsportsmenBigJ

