By: Maurice ” Cool Reece” Thomas

Follow me @CR_Unsportsmen

     I’m the first to admit when comes today’s contracts in sports I’m quick to say “is that player worth that much money?”, especially in the NFL.  You have players like Tony Romo who just recieve an extension worth 108 million dollars but only have one playoff win and alot people feel he doesn’t deserve it.  Yahoo Sports reports that Tony Romo makes $6,302.52per hour, while Peyton Manning only makes 400 dollars more than Romo.  What about other celebrities that makes enormous amount of money like actors or musicians?  How come we don’t judge them on their money and performance?  As Chris Rock would say “Now that ain’t right!”

     Jason “Big J” Allen my fellow UnSportsMenMic colleague asked me “how can i be so quick to hate on Megatron, but not say anything about other entertainers?” Like Ryan Reynald from the movie R.I.P.D. had two bombs in the same week, and yet he probably made millions for just being part of the film.  Hell, he scored 9 million for Green Lantern, and according to “Big J” it was terrible.  Bottom line is he’s right, a lot of people do judge athletes more than actors and musicians including myself. But why?  Until this article I never thought about how much an actor or musician made.  I never really cared, but a lot of that has to do with the fact we don’t hear about the money  they make.  Mostly people care to hear about the drama they go through or what they wore on the red-carpet. 

     So i decided to google overpaid actors and the first link I clicked on was forbes.com and the actor they had first was Eddie Murphy.  I can only think well damn Eddie’s movies have sucked in the recent years.  And what’s funny is there were other websites saying he’s the most overpaid as well. Now for a second let’s compare him in athlete terms, he would be an athlete that came out the gates hot in his rookie contract, then got his pay day for his second contract and then decided to stop striving t be the best.  We would “Kill” that guy in the media and would want him to return the money, or in the words of Eddie Murphy “HALF! Give me half Eddie”.  Furthermore I decided to search for over paid music artist came up with very little info, but I was hoping to see Jay-z name somewhere especially after the recent album “Magna Carta Holy Grail”.  I’m not saying he’s overpaid, but if he comes out with more average to terrible material like that again then somebody will have to make a list just to add him on (I’m prepared for the black lash, holla at me @CR_Unsportsmen).

     In my opinion actors or music artist always get a pass for the money they make in comparison to athletes, because almost everyone has played a sport, or at least been around sports.  With that you feel like if you had just worked harder, had a better break, or just had more of God- given talent “we” could have been a pro!  How many times have you watched a game and could point out what the player did wrong before an announcer?  How many times have you said “Man! he should have done this…” “Man! I would’ve done this/that instead”.  I’m sure most if not all of you have, and that is where our “skepticism” or our harsh judgement comes from.  On the other hand, we all don’t feel like we can/could make it as an actor, or musician, so we have a habit of giving them a pass. .  Though they all have pre maddona moments, but athletes are the ones I hear the most about, because of sports media with “breaking news” of new contracts, contract disputes, or contract extensions.

     Maybe if I was able to watch Beyonce perform all her shows than I would probably have a different opinion on her.  The same if i saw how many retakes Denzel Washington had to have while filming a movie.  Then maybe I would have more of an opinion if they make too much money, but all we get is the finished product to judge them on.  So is it fair for athletes to be judged for how much money they make?  No, but there’s no editing in sports so I’ll be judging Romo every Sunday.  And just like unemployed Bart Scott “Cant Wait!”

Maurice "Cool Reece" Thomas @CR_UnSportsMen

Maurice “Cool Reece” Thomas
@CR_UnSportsMen

