By: Raymond “Big Play” Miller

Follow me @Bprunsportsmenm

The Summer of Mo

With the 2013 season being the last for Mariano Rivera, it dawned on me watching the All-Star game the other night; that Mo is the epitome of being a true Yankee. How great was it that “Enter the Sandman” plays and Mo comes out and no one else is on the field; both dugouts are standing there cheering for him.  The reason I say that is in a world where teammates (Arod and Petitte) usage of PED’s and HGH and idiotic tweets (Arod, we can actually go all day with Arod but I digress) run rampant Mo has been nothing but a class act.  Since taking over as closer from John Wetteland in ’97 Mo has 634 saves and had 30 saves at the All-Star break not bad for a 43yr old.  Rivera has dominated the game with one pitch a cutter that has broken the bats of many major leaguers ask the Twins (they gave Rivera a chair of broken bats).   Mariano lets his game do the talking for him, he never shows up his opponent with crazy emotional outburst like many closers do.  No Rivera handles himself like a true Yankee would.  Come on even Red Sox fans recently cheered for Mo now that’s respect.
Onto my thoughts…
1. A 66 in the final round!  Wow congrats Phil Mickelson.
2. Didn’t Ryan Braun do a Rafael Palmeiro and emphatically deny the use of PED’s or HGH right?
3. I thought Arod was coming back, but now not so much.  He’s next to go.
4. Tim Duncan to nice of a guy for his ex wife to lie about him right… Dang Timmmmy!!!!
5. And here I thought Bosh was the down low star…  Then again
6. Training camp around the NFL starts this week and we’ve all missed it.  As a Jet’s fan let the Sanchez vs Geno battle begin!
7. Looking at Von Miller’s wardrobe, glasses, and demeanor I’m not to surprised he was smoking weed.
8. Only Ryan Reynolds can have two movies come out the same weekend and neither one be #1 in the box office.  Turbo looked so bad my kids didn’t want to see it.  And what can be said about R.I.P.D. that is not in the title, cause this movie will Rest In Peace.
9. And I thought Channing Tatum was bad…  Damn Van Wilder.
10. My surprise National League World Series Representative is the LA Dodgers and for the American League the Red Sox.  Winner to be decided with later.

Raymond "Big Play" Miller @bprunsportsmenm

Raymond “Big Play” Miller
@bprunsportsmenm

